Top apprentices selected as ECA Edmundson Awards Finalists

The four leading apprentices from electrical and building services firms have reached the national final of the ECA Edmundson Electrical Awards 2016, following a rigorous regional judging process.

The final four contenders seeking to become ‘Apprentice of the Year’ are as follows:

  • Henry Bartle – Chris Bowker Ltd – North
  • Luke Towers – Eaton Electrical Ltd – East Midlands and South East
  • Joshua Lee – P & R Hurt Electrical & Mechanical Services – South and West
  • Thomas Murray – Blackbourne Integrated M&E – Wales and Northern Ireland

Edmundson Managing Director Gordon Love commented, “We are delighted to have sponsored these awards for the best electrical apprentices and adult trainees in the country for over 40 years. Edmundson has a long established policy of developing young people through an apprenticeship scheme and in the last six years have also developed a graduate scheme recruiting and training graduates for sales and management roles.

“The electrical industry continues to provide great opportunities for young people to develop a rewarding and enjoyable career.”

ECA CEO Steve Bratt added, “Massive congratulations to all four ECA Edmundson Electrical Awards national finalists, who stood out among a number of high quality entries this year. With top prizes on offer to the overall winner, including an all-expenses paid study trip to France, I wish them all the best of luck in their efforts to become the 2016 Apprentice of the Year.”

All four national finalists will be awarded £500 and will receive a state of the art toolkit. They will now move onto a final judging stage, held at the end of August, which will determine the overall winner.

The national winner will then be announced during an awards ceremony held on 21 September in London. The winner will be awarded an additional £500, will go on a study tour in France, hosted by leading manufacturer Schneider, and will become an industry ambassador for the following 12 months.

Since their creation in 1975, the ECA Edmundson Electrical Awards have recognised top quality work and training among high fliers from ECA member-firms. The 2015 Apprentice of the Year was Mike O’Donovan of building services company T Clarke.